Hai ye maya..!

Money! Umm…i guess i have never really talked about it before..! And i seriously don’t know what really got me a sudden feeling to ponder over it… We all agree that money is important, paisa bolta hai…hehe (i hope we do agree)! But how important?? This is what i have been trying to find an answer to! I have not really started earning money yet so may be my view will all be delusioned or one sided or hypothetical! Besides i am more of a “listen to your heart” and not “listen to your brain” kind of person. So it might be a little less practical.
Firstly, I get pocket money. Yes am 20 but still get pocket money and i find it completely right because i don’t earn so i should not have the right to spend lavishly either. And my parents make it a point to make me give them all the details of what has been spent where. I have been grounded by them whenever i have spent recklessly. Secondly, I mostly go on shopping with parents (I call them my ATM), so there are not many chances of me overpaying for anything or purchasing something useless. Neither have i ever been to a vegetable or food market to know about the current prices or notice inflation, if any. Nor have i taken a real interest in other basic things a house needs like milkman, newspaper, etc. So technically i don’t have much knowledge of how valuable money is. I might judge its importance correctly wrongly. Aate daal ka bhav abhi samjha nahi hai mujhe basically.
What i know for sure is that i dont rate it as the most important of all. Now that maybe because its easily available to me (some say you need to live in crunch to realize the value of money). But i still believe that i don’t want more and more of it. If i like something, i wish to get it. But i don’t really go about it blindly. If its not worth the mullahs i don’t take it. I do feel bad but not for long. I have never really dreamt of earning loads and loads of money. I might have dreamt of fame but not of money. But how else will i get an IPhone…hehe! I mean we all know the famous joke:
Money may not help you buy happiness,
but its always better to cry in a BMW than on a cycle.
And it is true. We need money and dreaming to earn it is not bad. It turns bad or ugly when its earned by wrong means. Earning more at the cost of your values, how valid? Or by cheating others? I don’t even need to mention the number of scams that have come up. What is it all for? Money. Itna paisa lekar jaoge kahan?? Huh. Its all the matter of ‘want’ changing into ‘greed’. Numerous cases of murders have been filed, murders committed for theft. Extorsion cases. Frauds. Children cheating their parents, siblings cheating on each other. All for money. Why? Is money more important than relations?? More important than your conscience? You might have all the money in the world but if you have anyone besides you to share it, i strongly believe its useless. Waste paper. Earn money to get your parents a house at a calm place rather than taking all they have and enjoying it alone. Besides, nothing is permanent. The money you have today might be gone tomorrow. And if you believe it can never happen to you then you, my friend, are living in a superficial world. Also, money might be there who knows if you are not? (Unless you are a vampire :P). So stop running after money like its the only thing in the world.
Lastly would like to share something i found pretty intriguing, its by George Eliot:
“It seems to me that we can never give up longing and wishing while we are alive. There are certain things we feel to be beautiful and good, and we must hunger for them always.”

PS: I know I am immature and have not yet realized the value of money but if realizing its value will make me greedy then I guess I am happy in my protective shell of immaturity. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Hai ye maya..!

  1. You have written so mch so obviously you are not immature.
    Yea money is important and it needs to be spent maturely.
    I also got pocketmoney till I got my first job in final year and I dont find it wrong if one keeps a check and knows what they are spending on.

    As you say relations are morw important definitely…

Leave a Reply

