Of busy people in their even busier lives!

Firstly, to all who are reading this, Thank You. For I know how busy everyone is and yet to take time out and read it is commendable, Thank You again.

I love to read, write, discuss, talk, argue and debate. I love it. So it’s maybe because of this that I always feel upset about the letter communication not prevailing anymore. I don’t know when and how it was overpowered and reduced to dumps. All I remember is that when i actually was of age where I understood that we need to communicate with people other than our close family, we already had a landline in our home. And the only things that came by post were the official letters and my report card. No personal letters. I have never received, read or sent any personal letter, EVER. I have written many such personal letters to my imaginary ill friends, grandparents, uncles, aunts as my school assignments though 😛 I wonder now, why did they even include learning to write personal letters in our syllabus when we never really use it??
Personal letters are now an ‘age old’ talk. Something that is talked about with the suffix ‘once upon a time’. Now is the age of texting, Whatsapp, BBM! The shorter and faster the messages, the better! So i ask, Why not emails? Why only the forwarded emails? Why not emails of your day’s experience shared with a friend? A random email to a friend, cousin, relative telling them what’s going on with you and that you miss them won’t do any harm. But again, do you really miss them? As I read that day, we are all reduced to our smart phones. So true. Forget such communication, so busy with our lives are we that we might not know when a friend needs us or that a relative of ours is ill. We don’t even call people without reason. Gone are the days when we used to call just to know how people are doing. Reminds me of another thing i read which fits here, we don’t make friends, we add them. Sad, but true. I don’t have any pen friend. I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep up to itif I had any. What I know is I won’t mind trying. I don’t mind being a mere contact in your phone, don’t label me as a friend is all I request.

In an age where people barely manage time to sleep, I would like to have friends who care to share. Silly? That’s me.

PS: I ain’t ignoring the advantages of faster and better communication here, I am just expressing my views about the distance in the minds, that has crept up with these advancements.

22 thoughts on “Of busy people in their even busier lives!

  1. So true!! Really we all are busy with our fast growing techs n all, missing the real fun behind those old style of mailing letters and post cards. Even I wrote my 1st letter to my mom, 3 months ago and that was really appreciated by my mom. Just try, it’ll make you feel an unmatched feeling.

  2. Awsum post and i loved the line i would like to have friends who care to share May be cos even i like to share every little detail of my life with my besties. Also friendship is not just about adding people in ur life but knowing and caring for them so that u can share their happiness and sorrow.

  3. aww. even i never wrote a letter ever, except those for English class 😉 My mom-dad used to communicate through letters before marriage 😀 and i loved your “care to share” waali line. 🙂 I gladly listen to people’s grumbling and blabbering but it’s sad when they don’t do the same for you and that’s perhaps (in my case) because they don’t care? :/
    Anyways, the more the ways to communicate we have, the lesser we have to say/write/tell. 😦
    and i won’t deny writing those letters was my favorite part of the English exam 😉

    • OMG! Letters before marriage?? HOW CUTE IS THAT!!!! It’s the most romantic thing as per me! 🙂 and Yup sometimes people take us for granted and forget that we may have issues too! But come on, they are your friends naa? Toh tell them ki you want to talk, haq se 🙂 🙂 and i loved letter writing too in school! It was so much fun 😀

  4. Well well! M in the process of writing one…not a letter thou bt a whole diary for someone 😀 so i really loved this post :-* and btw even my mom dad has exchanged letters before marriage 😉

  5. if i can say that some people do communicate through emails in this world, i know the figure is too less but still they don’t care about others. do what u want to and not what others follow, is what they prefer. having said that, the post was nice. my opinion: sometimes u need hours of communication in a relation to understand each other, sometimes just few seconds, it is very subjective and that’s what i like about communication between people. there isn’t a pattern to life. 🙂

    • Absolutely! Am not talking about the trend either! For me to send an email…the receiver should be excited about it too! Two sided effort is needed! And here the point is not understanding the relation or how strong the connection is…it’s how much efforts we make to keep it going, to communicate and share! And not just be there during happy or sad phases but through ALL the phases 🙂

  6. if i am getting it in the right way then;
    agreed that efforts and excitement has to be two side and that too at a similar level (that was for ‘should be excited about it too!’)
    and what i think is that it is very diff to sustain such communication through all phases, considering the practical life and the level people get busy. some phases agreed not all phases. – aiminig-star’s opinion.

    • Yes I do get your point and completely agree with what you are saying! Even I don’t talk to everyone but if you intend to then how difficult is it to have mere 10mins to send a text or email about your day to someone? Doesn’t seem impossible! This helps us share thoughts we don’t really share with anyone 🙂

  7. It’s not at all difficult. it is just about wish and want, if someone wants/wishes to ask, then the person will take time out to speak/communicate with you. Maybe that’s the reason we have dining tables for a family to have such casual talk over dinner. 🙂 sorry if i got off the track, but i so much wanted to say this.

Leave a Reply

