Thank you John Green!

Thank you for brilliance that is Hazel Grace Lancaster! Thank you for giving me a character that is insecure yet a fighter! For some, it was stupid how Hazel wanted to go all the way to Amsterdam to know the end of a novel. It was not just a end of novel for her. She wanted to know what becomes of those who were related to Anna and through which she wanted an assurance that her parents would be fine after her death and no it’s not stupid. I don’t think it was even remotely stupid. Hazel was a simple girl who knew she was dying and wanted to know that her mom and dad would be okay! All she needed was an assurance and because the author wrote like he understood her like no one else, she sought assurance from him. If (not when!) I were to die I would obviously want to know what will happen to my family! Honestly, I have pondered over it quite a few times! And maybe so, I understand that Hazel wanted an assurance that her mom won’t stop being mom, that her emotional dad won’t breakdown, that her mom and dad are going to be okay, that they won’t crumble down in grief! She is the centre of their universe, she loved them, it was only natural that she wanted to look out for them. I am not being a cynic thinking about deaths but we all know it is inevitable and uncertain! For my parents, I  occupy almost 90% of their life! So I have all the right to defend and love and admire and relate to Hazel! We don’t know what awaits us in our afterlife, whether there is an afterlife at all but what we do know is that we will leave a life, a life that had people who love you. No please don’t say, deaths happen, people move on. Maybe everyone else will move on, parents don’t. Not that easily anyway! So yeah, no Hazel Grace Lancaster was not stupid, she was a silly ordinary girl like me looking out for her parents and if you find that stupid, your loss!

5 thoughts on “Thank you John Green!

  1. I m with you.. I dont know how people can say this hapoens moves on.. yes move on but how can one forget those tjwy cared and loved for at some stage of life.. whoever they are..
    Parents hold a big big place ..at least for me.. I am constantly worried about mum as she is alone and I hate it.. uk embassy denied visa so more tension for me..
    I wish I can do more much more

Leave a Reply

